||||Three Night Pieces

Three Night Pieces

Soprano and Alto solo, SSAA chorus, Solo cello, percussion and piano

A work for the more advanced college- or university-level chorus. The texts are drawn from three woman poets of vastly different times and cultures, the Greek poet Sappho, the American imagist poet Adelaid Crapsey, and the Chinese poet Tzu Yeh. The second piece is a cappella.


  1. Alone
  2. Triad
  3. I Am the North Pole
Composed: 1974
Text attributed to: Sappho
Duration: 12:00
Publisher: E. C. Schirmer Music Company
Catalog Number(s): Choral Score, 2834


Composed in 1974, the “Three Night Pieces” are settings of poems by Sappho (“Alone”), Adelaid Crapsey (“Triad”), and Tzu Yeh (“I am the North Pole”). Together their total duration is about twelve minutes. Though difficult and highly dissonant, the choral parts are not be yond the capacity of a well trained college ensemble; indeed the work is a worthy addition to the twentieth-century repertoire for women’s voices…. College-age singers can and probably should strengthen their musicianship on contemporary compositions such as this.

Music Library Association, NOTES 3/80

Three Night Pieces


Score Sample:

View Score

Audio Excerpt: