||||North Country

North Country

SATB Chorus with Piano Accompaniment

Commisssioned by the Da Camera Singers of Amherst, MA for their 2011 season. A setting of five early poems by Robert Frost.


  • To the Thawing Wind
  • Stars
  • Revelation
  • Fire and Ice
  • Going for Water
Composed: 2010
Text: Robert Frost
Duration: 12:00
Publisher: Pear Tree Press Music Publishing distributed by Subito Music
Catalog Number(s): PTM 4001


“Ronald Perera set “North Country,” five poems by Robert Frost. Their theme was self-concealment and, in the central poem, revelation. The music was perfectly fitted to the poetry, occasionally dissonant and more often delicate and clear, in keeping with the beautiful conclusion of “Going for Water” (the last poem), “We heard, we knew we heard the brook.” The chorus was the Northfield Mount Hermon Singers, whose young voices and disciplined performance were the musical and emotional highlight of the concert.”

Daily Hampshire Gazette 1/23/2014


Score Sample:

View Score

Audio Excerpts:

2. Stars

5. Going for Water